Franklin’s inspiration

card-fronts-1138.jpg

Tonight as my dear husband and I were putting the boys to bed (for the first of three times tonight..ugh!) I got some inspiration from the cover of Franklin and the baby book.  I will try to remember to take a pic of it tomorrow and post it here as well.  This is what I came up with.  I didn’t know what image I wanted to use for the focal point but the when I saw the double line doodle on the shelf it screamed, USE ME!!!  So, I obliged and did as it asked.  I think I am going into stamping insanity world..LOL.  I used a Whisper White card for my base card.  I then sponged Close to Cocoa on the Palette o’ Prints that I cut at 5 1.2″ by 1 1/2″.  I adhered that to the card base.  I then made two rows of scallops with my slot punch, one in choc. chips (oh, that sounds good!) and whisper white.  I paper pierced three holes in each scallop in the whisper white.  Did I say I had been interrupted twice already at this point with screaming boys??  I adhered the white scallop onto the Choc. Chip.  I then stamped in Regal Rose with my Paisley BG stamp on to regal rose.  I sponged the edges of the Regal Rose cardstock with Close to Cocoa as well.  Once again upstairs to a crying boy…  Back again, I adhered the scallop to the regal rose.  I then stamped, well I was about to stamp…up stairs again!  Ok, I then stamped the main image and used my markers and blender pen to color it in.  I use Rose Red and Certainly Celery for this.  I tied the hemp through the button so I wouldn’t have a naked button!  I adhered this to the flower center with a mini glue dot.  To make the corner piece you can use the 3/4″ square punch and the 1 1/4″ square punch.  You first punch the smaller square.  Then center the large one over the smaller square that you have already punched.  Punch again and you will have a frame. Cut the frame diagonally at two of the corners and whallla two corner pieces!  I paper pierced the corner three times.  I adhered the layers of choc. chip, rose red, certainly celery and whisper white.  Punched the hole with my 1/8 ” hand held punch and added my hardware from the Hodgepodge hardware kit.  I tied hemp and rose grosgrain ribbon through the loop.  I stamped the image from simply said onto the regal rose and adhered everything down!  Whew!!  Both of my boys are finally asleep for the night.  Tomorrow is another fun day of playing and my weekly home blessing.  Check out Flylady.com if you have no idea what I am talking about. 🙂 I hope you all have a wonderful week!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mvlynch3
    May 21, 2007 @ 19:22:51

    This card is lovely! Not sure i would want to go through all that, but it is quite nice. Hope the home blessing is going well and the boys are having a better day than their night. Wow!

    Reply

  2. Erica Hilden
    May 22, 2007 @ 00:51:43

    I actually thought this was a photo album all the way until the comment!! It would make a really, really cute cover for an album or diary!!! I love it!

    Reply

  3. Dawn Burnworth
    May 23, 2007 @ 17:00:58

    Staci,
    I can so relate to stamping in specific time slots with LOTS of interuptions. Hang in there. Soon they will be teenagers and will sleep all day. Have a great one. Love this card too.
    Dawn B>

    Reply

  4. lisa
    May 24, 2007 @ 02:43:49

    I just love this card it is just so lovely

    Reply

  5. MishSpar
    May 30, 2007 @ 00:54:25

    Amazing work! I really have to check your blog more often! You are so inspiring!!!

    Reply

  6. Lindsey B
    Jun 29, 2007 @ 12:53:49

    Hey Staci! I found you on SCS, great blog! Love this card! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

