Vintage

card-fronts-1203.jpg

Today there are 8 new challenges for Dare to be Dirty 07′ on SCS.  One of the challanges by WAXYO is to create a vintage looking card.  This is my attempt at that!  Here is her explanation:

Vintage Values: Creating a Vintage Look With Any ImageYou might think that you have to start with vintage images in order to create a vintage look to your creations…so not true!Grab your favorite stamped image – vintage or modern – and stamp and/or color as you wish. Next, select three varying shades of the same color of ink and one light shade of brown (some suggestions are below). Sponge the edges of your cardstock with the lightest value first, covering most of the image with this color. Layer the second value next closer to the edges of the cardstock, and then finish with the darkest value just on the edge of the cardstock. Lightly sponge the light shade of brown over the entire image and you’re done! You’ll notice that the light shade of brown “knocks down” the brightness of your colors and creates a nice, uniform vintage look to your image. Of course I love layering shades of brown, but this will work with just about any color combination…for example:Celery Green, Olive Green, Dark Green
Pale Yellow, Bright Yellow, Mustard Yellow
Baby Blue, Denim Blue, Navy
Pale Pink, Rose, Burgundy
Be sure to let us know what combinations work for you!”I did a purple color scheme.  It wasn’t listed but for some reason that called to me today!Here are the details for my card:

Stamps:Garden silloutetes, Sincere salutations, Paisley BG, Linen BG

Paper/Ink: Eggplant, Old Olive, Pale Plum, Perfect Plum, Basic Brown, Close to Cocaoa, Creamy Carmel

Accessories: Wide Organdy ribbon vanilla (retired), Eggplant grosgrain ribbon, Pretties kit hat pin, pearls, and spacers, paper piercer, and corner rounder

First I stamped my Paisley BG on the cardbase in Elegant Eggpant.  I then stamped the Paisley BG on my piece of Old Olive and the layered the Linen BG on top of that in Close to Cocoa.  I used the corner rounder to make the scallop and then paper pierced the scallops.  For my main image I markered the Cherry blossom with Old olive, perfect plum and pale plum.  I stamped that on Very Vanilla.  I then did as Meg’s instructions say and sponged first pale plum, then Perfect Plum, next Eggplant, then Creamy caramel and then finally close to cocoa on the edges.  I distressed it with the cutter tool.  I stamped the thinking of you in basic brown and then layered that on a piece of pale plum.  I tied my knot and put the hat pin through the knot and done…
 I hope you all are having a great weekend!  I need to go clean up a little boy that is covered with peanut butter and jelly! 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melissa
    Jul 30, 2007 @ 04:51:23

    This is awesome!

    Reply

  2. corie
    Jul 30, 2007 @ 13:34:51

    This is absolutely stunning. Love it

    Reply

  3. Debbie
    Jul 30, 2007 @ 16:41:15

    One can never go wrong with purple and green – beautiful!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

