Thankful for you

card-fronts-1204.jpg

I am really thankful for all of you who looks at my work, even more thankful if you leave comments, LOL.  Just kidding, but I am suprized at how many hits I have.  I will do blog candy at 10,000 so keep an eye out for that!

Yesterday one of the eight challenges on SCS Dare to be Dirty 07′ was a sketch.  At first I didn’t know if I would do it but I was inspired by all of the sunflowers and black eyed Susans that I saw on our drive to church yesterday.  I was so glad to see the Thorlughly Thankful set in the Fall/Winter 07′ Collection this year.  The layout is pretty simple but nice.  Thanks Sharon!

My card base is Close to Cocoa.  I stamped the Linen BG in Basic Brown onto the cardbase.  I cut a strip of brown polka Dot from the Loves Me DP (retired) because I haven’t ordered the new DP in Close to Cocoa yet.  I used a piece of Mustard grosgrain ribbon and put two brads from the vintage collection at the ends and adhered that layer down.  I used the stamp-a-ma-jig, one of my favorite tools, to line up the flowers.  I masked off the Thankful for you on two of the stamped images.  I colored the main images with markers and the blender pen in Summer Sun, More mustard, Close to Cocoa, creamy caramel, and garden green.  I layered that onto a piece of More mustard.  I was going to use a round clear button and I cut our a flower from the larger stamp in the set but when I got my buttons out I realized, opps, only square left!  So I colored another flower and cut it square to fit the square button.  I actually like it better!  I threaded a piece of linen thread through the button and cardstock and tied it.  I adhered the button and cardstock on with a mini glue dot. It seems like that wouldn’t have taken me very long but for some reason my brain wasn’t working and I keep messing up and having to redo everything!  Oh well, I was worth it in the end when my hubby said “oh, I really like that one!”  I was a bit surprised because he doesn’t usually like cards with more mustard on them.  What do you think?  I always feel like I could do just a little more to make it better but sometimes enough is enough when it is 11 o’clock and time for bed!  Off to cardio kick now and to wait for today’s challenges!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Debbie
    Jul 30, 2007 @ 16:40:21

    I love this! I also was glad to that set in the new catty. A new way to use that set – so very simple – my favorite!

    Reply

  2. Melissa
    Jul 31, 2007 @ 03:52:14

    You did a lovely job on the sketch! I tried and tried, but just couldn’t make anything look decent so I gave up. Way to go!

    Reply

  3. Dawn Burnworth
    Aug 01, 2007 @ 16:53:22

    This is a great card. I love the layout. I am also glad this set made the catty. I was pleasantly surprised. Great use for it.
    Dawn

    Reply

Leave a Reply

