Birthday Thank you

I was in the mood to stamp today and when my youngest went down for a nap it seemed like a perfect time!  I haven’t gotten to do Beate’s Weekend Sketch challenge in ages so I thought I would give it a try this weekend!  I needed a special card to send my brother and SIL for a beautiful necklace they sent me for my birthday.  I felt like the colors on this card could be masculine but the glitter and flower were definitely for her!  card-fronts-1236.jpg

I started with a 5 1/4″ square Choc. chip cardbase.  I stamped the swirls from Priceless on that but you can hardly see it.  I the layered bordering blue, barely banana, and a piece of Close to Cocoa DP (I used the ticket corner punch on the DP first).  I sewed these layers in brown thread on my old Kenmore sewing machine.  I put brads in the corner from the vintage collection and added a piece of twill tape.   For the main image I used my Coluzzle cutting system from SU!.  I made a circle in Ruby Red and clear embossed the Linen BG on that.  I then cut a circle the same size in Bordering Blue and used the corner rounder to make the scallop.  I cut a circle from barley banana and close to cocoa DP again and paper pierced that. I layered all of those.  I used Ruby Red ink with the brayer (boy did that make a difference!) and stamped the Fabulous flower three times.  I cut out different layers of the flower and added dazzling diamonds with the two way glue pen.  I layered the flower with pop up glue dots.  I used vintage brads for the center of the flower.  The thanks stamp is from the set much appreciated.  I stamped that in basic brown, punched it out with the large oval and sponged it in the same color.  I used the Key Tag Punch to punch out the Ruby red piece and put them together with more vintage brads.  I adhered that on with dimentionals.  I thank that is it, whew!!  I had a good time creating it and I hope they like it! 

Hope you all are having a good weekend!  Off to watch football with my sick hubby! Go Huskies!!

Staci

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. beate
    Nov 11, 2007 @ 02:33:45

    Beautiful!!! I hope your husband gets well soon!

    Reply

  2. Andrea
    Nov 11, 2007 @ 09:43:52

    Great card, love the flowers it looks fab

    Reply

  3. Lori
    Nov 13, 2007 @ 04:04:20

    So pretty! I love how you did the flower image.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

