2 days…and done!

What have I been doing for the past two days (well besides being a mom and wife)?  Baby shower invites!  I had to do 55 of them!  They are not your traditional baby shower invites but the nursery will be done in a pirate theme so I thought it would be fun to do a pirate shower too!  I have lots of ideas so I will share after the shower is done!  I do not like to do mass production but have learned a few tricks along the way that help…

1.Do each step all at once..for instance if you need 55 scallop circles, punch all of them at once.  Cut all of the same size of cardstock at the same time and do it all before you start to assemble. 

2.I always work in groups of 10.  I don’t know why I started doing this but I have done it for a long time.  I have all of my cardstock cut and sorted in my groups of ten. I then finish ten at a time to it looks like I am getting more accomplished and I don’t go crazy doing the same thing for numerous times in a row. Make sense?

3.Don’t sweat the small stuff! Anyone who knows me knows I am a little bit of a perfectionist but if you are doing a huge group of these you will have to sacrifice perfectionism (is that a word) in the sake of sanity! 

I used the retired SU! set Ahoy Matey for these.  Thanks Vicki!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melissa
    Sep 25, 2009 @ 15:52:12

    They are amazing. I wish I could have been there to help, or maybe just sit back and watch you work while sipping a cup of coffee!

    Reply

  2. Ali
    Sep 27, 2009 @ 21:45:47

    WOW! They are really special to me. Thanks so much for all you love and hard work putting these together. I can’t even make a handful of cards in a few days so I have no idea how you managed this! You are an amazing friend! Thanks so much. Can’t wait till the shower!

    Reply

  3. Kim
    Nov 12, 2009 @ 01:41:00

    My friend’s nursey is pirate themed too….and I was thinking a pirate themed shower too…any ideas….most decorations are too mature for a baby shower…

    Reply

  4. Kimberly Ross
    Nov 20, 2009 @ 03:08:23

    Is there away to order these pirate invitations??? i love them and i dont have this stamping thing! I’m going to run to the local arts n craft store and see what i can find…because i love doing this kind of stuff

    Reply

Leave a Reply

